Our Team

The Ontario Northland Transportation Commission includes six Commissioners who are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. The Commission includes members from across the Province with expertise in a variety of industries. The Commission is responsible for the governance, oversight and strategic planning of the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission. The Chair of the Commission is accountable to the Minister of Transportation through Ontario Northland’s Memorandum of Understanding.


The Ontario Northland Transportation Commission consists of:


Photo Placeholder

Thomas Laughren – Chair

Tom Laughren, a lifelong resident of Timmins and former mayor serving from 2006 to 2014, brings leadership experience and knowledge of Northern Ontario to his role as Chair of the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission. Tom is currently Chief of the Timmins Fire Department and previously the Director of Corporate Responsibility with Lakeshore Gold. A seasoned heavy equipment operator in the mining industry for over 27 years, he has been actively involved in his community; a devoted 40 year volunteer firefighter, executive committee member of the Timmins Economic Development Corporation and City Councillor for nine years. Tom was a member of the Minister's Advisory Committee on ONTC Transformation and was appointed Chair of the Commission in 2015.

Board Member RJ Falconi

Robert J. (“RJ”) Falconi, B.Sc., JD, ICD.D

RJ, a resident of Bradford, is the Managing Director of RayleeValleyGroup that provides legal, public policy, rail transportation safety, government relations, and corporate governance advice. A Commissioner on the ONTC since January 2020, he is Chair of the TSSA Board, member of Tarion Warranty Corporation’s Board, and CME’s Ontario Advisory Board. RJ was formerly EVP, Chief Legal & Government Affairs Officer, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary at Canadian Standards Association. Previously a VP, General Counsel & Assistant Corporate Secretary for Parsons Corporation, a transportation engineering firm, and Legal Counsel at Citibank Canada. He is noted for organizing the first ever rail safety Congressional education forum on Capitol Hill in Washington DC and leading a Rail Safety Task Force of experts to develop rail safety solutions arising from the Lac-Mégantic crude oil tank car train tragedy. RJ has a B.Sc. from the University of Toronto, an LL.B. (J.D.) from Osgoode Hall, is certified as an Institute‐Certified Director (ICD.D) and is a member of the Law Society of Ontario.

Commisioner Randy Nickle

Randy Nickle

Randy Nickle, a resident of Kenora, has a strong business background as an A&W Franchise owner for more than 38 years. In addition he and his wife Lori jointly operated a motor coach agency in Dryden and Kenora making him very familiar with the transportation industry needs of northwestern Ontario. He has spent decades committed to tourism in the northwest, most notably chairing the Committee of Harbourfest, one of northwest Ontario’s largest Music and Family festivals. Randy has participated in various board and committees, ranging from economic development and tourism, to Copperfin credit union board member and many years in minor sports.

Board Member Lillian Trapper

Lillian Trapper

Lillian Trapper, a resident of South Porcupine, is passionate about preservation, conservation and the management of natural resources. In her current role as Regional Climate Change Coordinator with Chiefs of Ontario, she participates on federal and national climate change initiatives as per the Assembly of First Nations agenda and with Ontario First Nations through the political body of the Chiefs of Ontario. Her work experience includes local, regional and national forums on First Nation issues and concerns. She, also sits on the Northern College Indigenous Council on Education and is a member on the Board of Governors. Lillian practices and promotes cultural indigenous activities and lifestyle and speaks Cree. She holds a Bachelor of Geography from Carleton University and a Masters of Arts Environment and Management from Royal Roads University.

Board Member Ila Watson

Ila Watson

Ila Watson, a resident of Sault Ste. Marie, brings strategic planning, risk management and human resources expertise. She has been an executive at the Sault Area Hospital since 2009 and currently holds the position of Vice President of Transformation and Chief Human Resources Officer. Ila has over 20 years of experience with the Ontario Public Service in various leadership roles. She has been credited with significant achievements during the transformation of human resources service delivery in the Ontario Public Service. Ila has a Bachelor of Arts, Industrial Relations degree from McGill University.